Books, Everyday

Room

Today was one of those days when I all wanted to do was read.  I stayed up last night (or this morning actually) till midnight and started a new book called ROOM by Emma Donoghue. I’ve had the book sitting on my “needs to read” bookshelf for probably a year now.  I noticed the other day that the movie version was now on Netflix, so I thought I should read it.  I had no idea that I would wind up spending the rest of today reading it from front to back.

When I first started reading it, I didn’t really know if I was going to be able to finish it.  See ROOM is told from the perspective of a 5-year-old little boy, named Jack.  But Jack is not just any little boy.  Jack has been (along with his mother who he calls Ma), locked up in an 11’x11′ shed (in “Old Nick’s” backyard), that he refers to as “room”, for his whole life.

How he describes the world around him is a little choppy at times, but once you learn about their situation it becomes easier to piece things together.  He doesn’t understand what’s real and what’s really real.  It’s hard at times for Jack to imagine the world outside that he has never been apart of.  They do have a TV inside their small space, but he thinks of each channel as a different “planet”, rather than as anything going on in everyday life around them.  But Jack is not stupid and loves his mother more than anything.  She has done an amazing job raising him while in her limiting, and frustrating, circumstances.  At times Jack seems to know things that other 5 years olds wouldn’t, but at other times you have to wonder if he could ever make it outside of “room”.  He is a very brave little boy, and at the end of it all is his mother’s hero.

This was a very engaging novel.  I guarantee you will fall in love with Jack and will feel all the pain and struggles that his mother is put through by “Old Nick” in order for them to survive.  I don’t feel like there are any real “surprises” while you read, you just start to piece things together and the picture of their lives gets bigger and bigger and even more hard to imagine living through.  Overall it was a good book, but nothing I would run out and tell the whole world about.  I am glad I read it so that I can watch the cinema adaptation this weekend.  Books are usually 110% better than movies, so we shall see.

Standard

Leave a Reply

