Everyday

It’s gonna be a good day

Today was a really great day for me.  It started off by getting up super early to do hot, vinyasa yoga at 5:30am.  I haven’t been to that class in a very long time.  Ever since I lost my job last year, I haven’t had as much of a reason to get up that early.  But I have decided to add one yoga class back into my workout and the best one, with the best yogi is at 5:30am!  Oh the little sacrifices we make.

After an invigorating and literally eye-opening yoga session, I came home to do some much-needed cleaning.  That doesn’t sound too exciting, but I love it when our wood floors shine!  It’s the little things in life.  Plus, it was another way to get in a little workout after yoga.

After getting a quick shower, I made myself some breakfast and hot tea and sat down to finish reading one of the best books I’ve read in a long time (you can see my little review on it here).  It was one of those books that you didn’t want to end.  I love sitting and reading in the morning when it is still and quiet.  Usually one or both of my cats will join me and we will just sit and be.

I had to be at work later in the afternoon but I still got in enough time to blog and have some lunch before I left.  Today was just one of those days that I felt productive but not stressed out.  Sometimes that’s a hard line to walk.  Sometimes it’s just nice to slow down a bit and just have a good day.

Because ultimately you are in control of what kind of day you are going to have.  Sure sometimes unforeseen things happen, but I am learning more and more that how you react to those little things in life is key.  You are in control of your own light, your own inner self and who and what you give power to.  If you give your power over to the unfortunate things in life (like stress, anger, worry and sadness), you will find yourself unhappy.  But if you are aware of the control you have over yourself and only yourself, you can make happier choices even when times are hard and in turn have happier, calmer, more productive days. 🙂

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

