Books, Everyday

A Man Called Ove

This morning I just finished reading one of the best books I have read in a long time.  It was one of those books that as soon as I was finished, I didn’t want it to be over and I contemplated re-reading it immediately.  I have already insisted that my mother and good friend read it, and have it ready for them to borrow.  It was recommended to me by my best friend, who is an avid reader and is planning on using the book for her local book club in November.  The book is A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman.  Fredrik Backman, is a Swedish blogger, columnist and now writer.  His books, including this one, have been translated in 25 languages and shared world-wide.

To read the synopsis on the back of the cover, I probably wouldn’t have thought twice about reading it.  It didn’t sound good or bad, but it didn’t make me want to pick it up and run home to read it.  But what is the old saying “you can’t judge a book by it’s cover“?  That couldn’t be more true in this case!

A Man Called Ove, without giving too much away, is about a crotchety old man and his daily life, in his little neighborhood, set in Sweden. Ove is a man among men.  He strongly believes in doing what’s right, even if he doesn’t have the best way about expressing himself.  And even though you shouldn’t judge a book by it’s cover, Ove will surely have a word or two to say about you depending on what you drive.  Throughout the book Ove, without even realizing it, becomes a hero in his little neighborhood, when all he really wants is to be left alone to die.  But as more and more people and well…. a cat, come into his life, he slowly realizes he won’t be going anywhere real soon if they have anything to say about it.  The more and more you read about Ove’s daily life, the angrier he seems to get, but in the end he is the neighbor everyone wishes they had.

I highly recommend picking up this book and then sharing it with others because I know you will find it as amazing as I did!  I think we all know someone who is a little like Ove and I know, that sometimes, I can relate to Ove myself!  The book was very well written and defiantly one that will be hard to put down.  I give it 5/5 stars!  I have already ordered Fredrik’s other book called:  “My Grandmother Asked Me To Tell You She’s Sorry” in hopes that it will be as good!

Standard

3 thoughts on “A Man Called Ove

  1. Pingback: It’s gonna be a good day | Monkey Toes and Flying Avocados

  2. Pingback: The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry | Monkey Toes and Flying Avocados

  3. Pingback: My grandmother asked me to tell you she’s sorry | Monkey Toes and Flying Avocados

Leave a Reply

