Running, Vegan

On the road again

Tuesday mornings have become my running mornings.  Despite the air being very still and heavy with moisture, it felt good to meet with my running buddy at 7am and catch up while getting some miles under our feet.  We agreed to only do 3 miles because I was just trying to get back into the swing of things and she was planning on doing a double (running twice in one day) later on that evening.  I felt pretty good and we managed to be able to carry on a conversation for the first 2.5 miles or so.  After that, I did need to take a small walk break to catch my breath, but pushed it in the end to finish strong (or at least just to finish)!  My body felt great; no aches or pains.  My endurance was lagging from my lack of cardio over the past few months, but nothing I can’t get back.

Also, have I mentioned that I am so done with summer?  Well I am.  Don’t get me wrong, I love going to the gym to get in a workout or join a class, but there is nothing like hitting the road in the early hours with crisp, dry air hitting your lungs.  I feel like I can go forever.  The summer is just so draining.  The heat zaps you to the core and the humidity makes it so hard to breathe.  Not to mention you have to get up so early to even try to out run either of those conditions.  Running at 7am in the summer is very different then running at 7am in the fall or winter.  So let me say it one more time:  summer, you and I need to call it quits!

After all was said and done, we did ok.  Those 3 miles were at a better pace then some of my previous summer runs, but came no where close to the times I was nailing before.  But a slow run is better than no run at all and fall is just around the corner!

3 mile run, 79 degrees @ 7am

  • Overall time 30:14
  • Average pace 10:04
  • Splits 9:48, 10:07, 10:17
  • Average cadence 172 (a little low, but that was with walking)

Screen Shot 2016-08-10 at 8.51.02 PM

Standard

Leave a Reply

