Running

Try it Tuesday 5k

Today was my first attempt at running again in about a month.  Our gym had a morning 5k planned for Try It Tuesday.  “Try It” days give people to join groups and do workouts that they might not normally do.  We had a couple new runners, some old running buddies and even a lead from another gym.  When we got started I felt pretty good for the first two miles; like I hadn’t had any down time at all.  After the about 2 miles, I started to lose my mo-jo and had to walk a couple of times.  Partly, I had to wait for the rest of our group to catch up, but mostly I was just tired.  My legs felt heavy and my heart and lungs were working overtime.  I wanted so badly to just keep going but the rest of my body wanted to check out.  Although it wasn’t as hot as it could have been (it rained the night before), the air was thick with humidity making it that much harder to breathe.

All and all I’m glad I went out for the run.  After the group was done with the 5k a couple of runners wanted it get in a few more miles.  For some reason I felt the need to join them, but as we got going I realized that I was only going to make it about half way, so I turned back.  Walking included, I got in a little over 4.65 miles at a 10:29-10:49 pace.  Not that great but not too bad considering everything I had stacked against me.  I am so ready for summer to be over.  I love to run, but just can’t bring myself to do it in steamy Texas conditions.  I have been enjoying weight training, but I will always be a runner at heart.

Screen Shot 2016-07-26 at 8.30.45 PMScreen Shot 2016-07-26 at 8.31.59 PM

Standard

Leave a Reply

