Fitness, Running, Vegan

The magic hour

Going to the gym at 6:30am, on a Saturday morning may not seem like fun to most people. For me this morning was great.  I think anything before about 9am on a weekend is the sweet spot in time at the gym.  No one was there and even between the few warriors that were there, I could move through my workout without any hiccups or hold ups.  It was my happy time!

Going to lift on a Saturday morning was different for me.  Usually I am out running with the run club.  Even the lady at the front counter asked me if the run club was meeting here today.  I’ve been pretty well established with the group for over two years now, so it was not weird to me for her to ask me this.  It was, however, a little weird for me to answer that I wasn’t planning on running for the next month or so.  I am really happy with my decision to tone up and put running on the back burner for now.  I needed a break and I hate summer time.  I do wonder though what it will be like when I start to make a come back in the fall.  Will I have totally lost my stamina or will it be like two old friends, that haven’t seen each other for awhile, but still can pick up right where they left off?  I don’t know, but I have no regrets!

Today I did a repeat of Wednesday’s workout.  I was a little worried to do the 270 lbs leg presses by myself, but with a two minute rest between each set, it wasn’t that scary after all.  I made sure to pace myself and count my reps slowly, maintain good form, and enjoy my breaks in-between.  Sometimes when I workout by myself I have a tendency to rush, but with the desolate atmosphere, it was easy to take my time and do the work correctly.  Tomorrow is a rest day and then I will hit it again on Monday.  Oh and I am going to try really hard to get my before pictures up this weekend!  I can’t wait much longer or they may turn into “during” pictures!

One and a half hour, solo workout @ 6:30am

Warm up 10 mins on stair stepper @ level 7

First set

  • 10 squats @ 85lbs with one minute rest x10
  • 8 leg press @ 270 lbs with 2 min rest x5

Second set x4 (one to two minutes rest between each set)

  • Split lunge (leg on bench) with 10 lbs plates, each leg x10
  • Incline bench press with 45 lbs bar x10

Third set x3 (one to two minute rest between each set)

  • Laying down dumbbell chest press with 17.5 lbs x10
  • Seated shoulder press 15 lbs x8
  • Should raises (to the front) with 5 lbs dumbbells x10

Forth set x3 (one to two minute rest between each set)

  • Reverse fly shoulder raises (Hungarian dead lift position, arms go to the side) with 8 lbs dumbbells x10
  • Triceps push down with rope with 17.5 lbs x10

Cool down .6 mile walk home

Standard

One thought on “The magic hour

Leave a Reply

