Fitness, Vegan

Glad tomorrow is a rest day

Woke up this morning only to find a little discomfort in my glutes from yesterday’s workout.  I thought I would be more sore this morning, but no worries, after today’s workout my whole body will feel like mush in no time!

This morning’s workout was probably one of the hardest I’ve done in a very long time.  I was supposed to being joining my normal running focused, strength training group workout, but no one else showed up, so instead we stayed focused on my over all body goal.  We hit the TRX hard to start.  (On a side note, the reason I have been adding so many notes to my workout run-downs below is because I have to repeat these workouts again, by myself another day, so I want to remember exactly what I am supposed to be doing.)  Next came the weights even harder!  I know it has only been two workouts but I can already tell that I am going to be getting stronger, faster than I thought.  Dead lifting 135lbs was crazy for me.  Even though I only did 3 reps, I was so focused on keeping good form.  Form is so important.  Bad form = injury and I really don’t want anything to stand in my way right now.  We wrapped things up doing two new sets on machines I had never used before.  I think by the time this is all said and done, I will have a new appreciation for all the machines in the gym!

Last night my husband and I attempted to take some “before” pictures and I was not too happy with what I saw.  First off, in my defense, the lighting was horrible!  Being an aspiring photographer on the side, I realized very quickly that evening, soft, lamp light makes everyone look horrible!  Needless to say, I think we will be taking new pictures this weekend during the day!  I promise to post those as soon as I can, just don’t want to scare anyone too much!  Lighting aside, I can see the parts of me that I am not happy with.  It’s mainly my midsection into my butt and thighs.  By no means am I fat or overweight, but I am not very toned in those areas at all.  I don’t want to become a bodybuilder, but I want everything more smoothed out; more “fit” looking, instead of just thin.

I’m really looking forward to the work and effort that this will take.  As well as how nutrition plays into everything.  I’m thankful for the followers I have on my blog and please feel free to like, comment or share my posts!  I love feedback!

One hour, one on one workout @6am (to be repeated on Monday)

Warm up of 5 miles on bike and 850m easy row

First set x4

  • Hamstring curls on TRX (laying on back with heals in TRX, raise butt and curl legs under) x15
  • Hamstring crunch on TRX (facing floor, on hands with feet in TRX, crunch legs under and hips up) x15
  • 30sec plank hold with feet still in TRX on elbows
  • Single leg squat using TRX, each side x15

Second set x5

  • Dead lifts 95lbs x10, 125lbs x8, 135lbs x3, 135lbs x3, 135lbs x3
  • Alternating lateral plank (between dead lift sets) x10

Third set x4

  • 20sec pull up hold
  • Inverted row x10

Forth set x4

  • Low row on Life Fitness machine, set at 55 lbs x10
  • Rope bicep curls, set at 15lbs x10

Cool down .6 mile walk home

Standard

3 thoughts on “Glad tomorrow is a rest day

  1. “just don’t want to scare anyone too much”
    dont worry, you wont “scare” anyone. 🙂 I think a lot of people, specially int he fitness and weightloss community never really minds Before photos. 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

