Fitness, Vegan

Ahh sugar, sugar

Here we are, July first.  Summer is officially in full swing and I am ready for a little challenge.  Besides shifting my focus from running to total body strength training, I am also planning on cutting out all processed sugars for the month of July.  I really don’t think this will be too hard for me.  Don’t get me wrong, I freaking love cupcakes, donuts, ice cream, brownies and we have this great food truck that serves frozen bananas dipped in whatever you want (all vegan of course), but we will be taking a vacation from each other this month.

I really don’t have that much to worry about during the week.  I don’t generally buy “sweets” to keep in the house, because if I do, duh, I will eat them!  Out of sight out of mind and out of my mouth!   Every now and then I may have a pint of NadaMoo ice cream or these awesome coconut crusted cashews from Trader Joes, but I have already dispersed of them as of yesterday.  And most everything else that I eat for my main meals do not contain added sugar, and defiantly not processed sugar.  If there is sugar in something because of a fruit or vegetable that is within the item, such as pasta sauce, then that’s ok;  because when I do buy those items, I always make sure to get them to <4g of sugar a serving.

The weekends will be when I will have to stop and say no.  We usually go out for dinner and afterwards will get dessert somewhere.  I’m not going to stop my husband from indulging himself, but I will refrain.  Some people might have a hard time watching others enjoy things they wish they could have.  To be honest that doesn’t really bother me.  I went vegan pretty much cold tofu (no turkeys were harmed in this cliché) so I know I have some pretty strong will power and self-control.  If I set a goal for myself, as long as it is realistic, then I am good to go.

Processed sugar is taking a toll on our bodies.  It is added to what seems like everything.  It’s sneaky too, sometimes being called a vast array of different names such as high fructose corn syrup, fructose, agave, lactose, dextrose, and as many as 50 more unrecognizable names.  It makes “diet” or “reduced fat” items taste better and it’s even what they use to replace the fats in skim milk.  No wonder people are not seeing results of better health or weight loss.  Most people are very mislead thinking they are doing something better for themselves by purchasing these well marketed items.  When in reality they are slowly harming their livers (sugars are processed the same way as alcohol) and lighting up the same areas of their brains that cocaine does.  No wonder it’s so hard to kick!

I am already an avid label reader, but I am going to make sure to be especially thorough this month.  I’m not really sure what kind of results I’m hoping to find.  I don’t really need to loose weight but my trainer mentioned that if I want to build more muscle I would need to watch my protein and sugar intakes.  More of the first and less of the latter.  I will make sure to post any of my findings here and I would love to hear from anyone else who maybe thinking about doing the same or who already has!

Standard

One thought on “Ahh sugar, sugar

Leave a Reply

