Fitness, Running, Vegan

There must be balance

This morning my friend and best runner partner talked me into doing a run with her.  Truthfully I didn’t want to go.  When she asked last night I had a text ready to go declining her offer.  Then I changed my mind and answered with an open-ended “I don’t know” hoping that she would change her mind too!  I’m glad that she didn’t.  And I’m glad I got my butt out of bed early this morning to go run with her.

I don’s usually regret any run.  Some are a lot harder than others but I rarely say, “damn I wish I wouldn’t have gone and run today”.  Sure there are times when I probably shouldn’t have; like when I am injured.  Then I am just too stubborn to give into the fact that I had no control over my injury.  I like being in control, damn it!  LOL  Seriously though, never really have regretted any good workout.  So this mornings run was a win in my book.

It wasn’t as hot and it was early enough that the sun hadn’t broken through the morning low clouds yet.  But it still wasn’t good running weather in my books.  It was too humid and that forced us to keep our mileage down because our bodies were having to work twice as hard just to keep a not so great 10 minute mile pace.  I know, I know.  I am too hard on myself, because in this weather you have to throw pace right out the window.  But I am a numbers person.  And just as I like my Garmin to end on an even amount on miles (yes I am that crazy person running back and forth in front of her house just to hit 4 miles instead of 3.78), I also like my pace to always be the same or better, no matter what time of the year it is.

One number that I did regain this morning was my cadence.  I was happy to see that it was a lot closer to the 180 I like it at.  Tells me that my form was good and that I didn’t have to walk/slow down too much.  We take what we can get in these summer times of uncertainty!

And speaking of uncertainty, I had an unfortunate discovery this morning.  I had planned on going back to my happy place after my run (read about it here).  I had a bowl of fresh food ready to go.  I sat down and called for them and waited.  And waited.  And waited.  To my disappointment, I believe my little family of kitties must have relocated themselves over night.  Little Opal and his/her siblings didn’t come to greet me this morning.  They were nowhere to be found.  Sometimes they would take a while to wake up and scamper over to me, but this morning hours have went by and their food has remained untouched.

My husband and I were out sitting with them last night.  Not something we usually do, but they were all running around and playing with each other so we happily sat down and joined them.  Then as we were sitting there watching them, two even smaller babies popped their heads out from under my neighbors deck.  There was a second litter of kittens!  We think they belong to the momma of the black and white cat we refer to as “Auntie”.  Momma Cat and Auntie have been together the whole time; helping each other raise their little families.  These new babies looked to be about two weeks old and were about half the size of the other four.  They were super cute, but we refrained from touching them.  Momma Cat was watching over them carefully and watching our every move even more intensely.  I think last night did it for her.  Our presence may have made her feel vulnerable and unsafe.  Cats are known to move their families around if they don’t feel safe.  Even though we would never ever harm them in any way, she doesn’t know that and we could tell she was not happy with our presence last night.  Auntie had grown used to us, and could clearly see that we never harmed her family, but Momma’s babies were so much younger that I can understand why she would choose to move them.

All we can do now is hope that they are safe and sound.  I hope they will have full bellies in their new home.  And I’m sure in time, we will see them again.  Not sure if little Opal will still remember or trust me, but as long and he/she is safe then I am ok with that.

IMG_1955

One more picture of my little Opal

3 mile run 75 degrees @ 7am

  • Overall time 30:13
  • Average pace 10:02
  • Splits 10:01, 9:59, 9:52
  • Average cadence 178

Screen Shot 2016-06-24 at 11.01.53 AM

Standard

Leave a Reply

