Fitness, Running, Vegan

Get up and get going and love kittens….

I had a great night’s sleep and woke up ready to get the day started!  I can’t say it enough how much I love getting in a morning workout.  It is setting a great foundation for the rest of my day.  I always feel more awake and energized and in the evening I know I can just relax and not have to fight with the rest of the rat race at the gym.  I also love sharing my workouts here with all of the readers out there.  Please feel free to steal them and make them your own!  If the weight or reps are too high, than lower them to meet your needs.  If you don’t feel like you are getting enough from each one, stack on some pounds and go for a little bit longer.  But just make sure to always mix it up.

So many people struggle to see results because they fall into doing the same workouts everyday, with little or no variation.  You need that “muscle confusion” in order to see results.  I learned a lot about muscle confusion from watching/doing Tony Hortons P90X back in the day.  And you know what, it works!  But you have to commit to it and you will get out of it what you put in.  It’s not easy all the time, but nothing that is really worth doing ever is.

On a side note, I want to share with you what I do after I get home from my workouts.  First and foremost I have my vegan protein shake (which you can see here).  It is important to have any kind of recovery protein smoothies within 45mins of your workout.  This is the optimal time for the nutrients to get to your muscles to help rebuild them.  The next thing that I do is go outside and feed a small family that has been sharing my backyard for the past couple weeks.  I am a huge animal lover (vegan) and an even bigger cat lover.  My husband and I have two 12-year-old, indoor cats of our own, but we also share our yard with many feral cats as well.  We have a new litter of babies and with the temps being so high, I feel sorry for them.  My neighbor makes sure they have plenty of water and I make sure they get at least one meal a day so that momma doesn’t have to work as hard to feed them.  So welcome to my post workout happy place!  I usually feed them and sit with them for a good 20 mins and it always puts me in such a great mood.  I wish I could save them all, and I am hoping to build their trust so I can get them spayed/neutered when they are a little older.  Enjoy!  (Also if you are in the Austin area and would like to adopt one, please feel free to PM me!)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One hour group workout @ 6am

Warm up 4 mile cycle, and 1000m row

First set x3

  • Plank holds for a minute
  • Lateral plank hold for 30 sec on each side
  • 5 single arm kettle bell swings, last one up to a cling and then 10 walking lunges

Second set x3

  • Suitcase squat with kettle bell, each side x10 (20 total)
  • Single leg dead lift with kettle bell, each side x10 (20 total)

Third set x3

  • Box jumps on 1 foot high box x10 (this is a very low box but I am coming back from injury and don’t want to over do it)

Forth set x3

  • Free motion dead lifts 90 lbs, 100 lbs, 110 lbs x10
  • Free motion pull up with 55 lbs helper platform x10

Cool down .6 mile walk home

Standard

One thought on “Get up and get going and love kittens….

  1. Pingback: There must be balance | Monkey Toes

Leave a Reply

