Fitness, Running, Vegan

Summer time runner blues

Our running group met this past Saturday at the hike and bike trail downtown.  We like to get out there at least once every two months.  There was a really good group of runners that showed up and everyone had a choice to run from 3-10 miles.  We started at 7am and it was already hot and humid outside.  Every summer I am reminded how much I love running in the winter!

So far my runs have not been getting any easier since I’ve made my come back after being laid up with an injury two months ago.  I’ve been having a hard time making it through only 3 miles and my pace is officially in summer mode, at almost a minute slower.  But I still enjoy getting out and at least trying to run.  Weight training has been fun and I love the small group I’m in and also appreciate the AC in the gym.  I wish I was more of a fan of the treadmill so that I could get some miles in inside.  Some gyms even have indoor tracks which would be awesome too, but my Lifetime does not.  I guess for now all I can do is just keep on keeping on and even averaging 10 miles a week would be ok for me (unlike the winter weeks of 20-25 miles).

3 miles (plus one) with Run Club 79 degrees @7am

  • Overall time 32:18
  • Average pace 10:25
  • Splits 10:10, 10:12, 10:36 (last mile 11:07)
  • Average cadence 172 (too low but walked at times)

Screen Shot 2016-06-19 at 11.13.35 PM

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

