Fitness, Running, Vegan

The heat is on

Got a little behind this with this week’s blogs.  Been busy, but still made it over to the gym, twice, on Tuesday.  In the morning I did my strength training group workout.  It was a good workout as always.  I almost didn’t go because I wasn’t feeling that great (had my monthly’s as my husband calls it) but I was glad that I did.  I always, ALWAYS feel better after a good workout.  No regrets.

I had a lot to do in the morning and afternoon but still managed to make it back to the gym for our social run in the evening.  It wasn’t that social for me because I could only do 1.5 miles.  Good news was that my leg felt 100% after my little run.  No pain during and no pain afterwards.  I think I might finally be out of the woods!  The only down side to this run was that summer is right around the corner and we could all feel it.  I was actually glad that I only could do a  mile and a half because it was just too hot!  I think it was about 89 degrees and the humidity was probably around 50%.  This was my first run in the warmer temps and it was hard.  A couple crazy people in my group managed to get in 5 miles but most everyone else did 3-4.

My pace was a little slower but I try to to focus on pace as much as distance in the summer months.  Heat will affect any runner.  Our bodies just don’t function as well when they get too hot.  Don’t get me wrong, summer is a great time to see what your limits are, but you still have to be very careful not to over do it.  After my 1.5 miles I got on my bike and finished the 5 mile course with my fellow runners.  It was a good workout either way.

One hour group workout @ 6am and 1.5 mile run @ 6pm

Warm up 4.5 mile bike, 1000m row

First set x3

  • Goblet squats with 12kg kettle bell with hold x5
  • Suitcase hold with 12kg kettle bell each side x5
  • Plank with alt arm extension x20
  • Birddog x20

Second set x3

  • Hip extensions on step, each side x20
  • Lateral lunges, each side x20

Third set x5

  • Leg press with 210 lbs x10
  • Dumbbell chest press with 22.5 lbs weights x10

Forth set x3

  • Thrusters with 55 lbs x5
  • Battle ropes 20sec

Cool down .6 mile walk home

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

