Appalachian Trail

Big Agnes Copper Spur UL2 mtnGLO

I bought my tent for my AT thru hike about a week ago.  It is a Big Agnes Copper Spur UL2 with mtnGLO technology.  I was going to wait until it got closer to my trip, but I am trying to save money wherever I can.  I found it on Amazon on sale for only $359 (normal retail is $479), plus I had a $50 gift card.  It wound up being a $170 savings overall.

I went with this particular tent because both of the people in the blogs I have been following use it and the thru hiker gear list on, Appalachiantrail.com recommend it too.  The main difference between mine and all of theirs, is the color and that I have the little lights on the inside.  It is listed as a two person tent.  The solo hiker I follow, has been using it for the additional space for her gear and a couple I follow, have been using the 3 person, again for the same reason.  I would like my pack to be inside with me (except for my food), plus for now, my husband and I can enjoy it too.  The tent itself is classified as a ultra light tent and weighs in at under 4 pounds.  It won the 2015 Editors Choice Award from Backpacker magazine as well.   I opted for the mtnGLO because the prices and weight difference were so minimal that I thought it would be a nice little touch that could come in handy.

The mtnGLO adds a small strip of LED lights to the inner frame of the tent and can be turned on and off from a small switch that hangs above you.  I know I plan on reading/blogging in the evenings when it is too early to sleep but too late to keep hiking.  This way I won’t have to use a headlamp or flashlight and it might come in handy for the middle of the night bathroom needs as well.  In away those little LEDs will probably also provide a small sense of security too.

It has been rainy here last week, so I haven’t had a chance to open it up and set it up yet.  Today I was better; just overcast and breezy.  So I went out to the common grounds in front of our condo and attempted to set her up!  First attempt was a fail!  I got everything out, but had no idea how exactly the polls were to fit into the grommets at the conners.  I was afraid it was going to be too taunt and rip or bend something.  So back inside and onto YouTube I went!  I found this video and it was very helpful!  I figured out that it was ok if the polls “bend” a little and that they wouldn’t break or tear anything.

Back outside for attempt number two.  It was a success!  The breeze was a pain because it wanted to throw the tent body and rainfly everywhere, but overall it was really easy.  Since this was just a trial run, I didn’t stake anything down (that’s why the rainfly looks saggy).  I was pretty proud of myself and excited to see my future home standing up!  I forgot to test the LED lights but could see the little switch to turn them on and off hanging from above.  Once I officially camp in my tent I will make sure to take some day and night pictures of it as well.

IMG_1847

This is how it comes all packed up

IMG_1848

Everything out of main bag and instructions are on the inside flap

IMG_1849

Instructions (still needed to watch a video because I am a visual learner!)

IMG_1850

Polls, stakes, and tent body

IMG_1851

Everything spread out and polls put together

IMG_1853
Tent without rainfly
IMG_1854

Tent with saggy rainfly (not staked down)

Standard

One thought on “Big Agnes Copper Spur UL2 mtnGLO

Leave a Reply

