Appalachian Trail, Fitness, Running, Vegan

Hazy, lazy days

Today started out with my normal Tuesday/Thursday workout.  It was a good workout but not “omg I’m going to die” like Saturday’s.  I’m glad that I got it in, and that today gets to be a lazy day for the rest of the afternoon.  My boss is out of town, so I don’t have to be back at work until Thursday.

I’ve been doing a lot of reading and and just laying around.  My head has calmed down a little and the warmer days of summer I feel are slowly approaching.  Today my energy has been ebbing and flowing.  I haven’t done a lot of strenuous anything really, but if my tank gets too low I get sleepy.  Maybe it’s just the warmer weather and a lack of responsibly today.

So far I have watched a new video blog on Youtube from thru hiker Jacob Downing.  I have read several chapters in Becoming Odyssa and have been flipped through some of my back logged Backpacker magazines.  So, normal, hiking on the brain, kind of stuff.  I really need to open up and pitch my tent to make sure everything is sound on it, but it is windy, warm and sticky outside.  I’ve actually contemplated setting it up in my office area.

I have been wondering what the weather will be like at different seasons on the trail.  I know there will be rain, but how are the over all temps?  Will I get too warm in my tent and sleeping quilt the closer I get to summer or will the elevation changes provide cooler nights?  I just have so much stuff to read up on.  My brain is too foggy today to focus too long on one topic……

One hour, group work out @ 6am

Warm up 4 mile cycle, 1000m row

First set x4

  • Up and down planks, 5 on each side
  • 30 sec plank hold

Second set x4

  • TRX plank in and out x20

Third set x5

  • explosive squat with red tension band x10
  • 20kg kettle bell swing x15
  • body weight squats x10

Forth set x4

  • chest press 3 with 45lbs, 1 with 50lbs
  • leg press 2 with 180lbs, 2 with 230lbs
  • captains chair lifts x15
  • tube walk with red tension band, 10 up 10 back

Cool down .6 mile walk home

Standard

Leave a Reply

