Appalachian Trail, Fitness, Running, Vegan

Soggy start to the day

This morning was quite the work out.  I was pretty tired form only getting about 4 hours of sleep the night before.  Husband was sick (and is alright now) so we didn’t get to be until about 11:30.  Then at about 3am my cat decided to throw up too!  So much fun!  Anyways back to the work out!

I can totally feel myself getting stronger and stronger.  I have maintained the same weight but I can see a definite change in my overall phasic.  Getting more toned and less giggly in certain parts.  I would still love to have abs but my arms and shoulders as well as my legs are defiantly changing.  Good thing too because I need to stay in tip top shape in order to prepare my body for more strenuous things…… like say doing a thru hike on the AT!

I actually got a little taste of “trail weather” this morning.  We were sitting at a nearly 100% chance of rain for most of the morning hours.

Screen Shot 2016-05-19 at 8.34.41 AM

It wasn’t raining when I got to the gym, but it was pouring when I needed to leave.  I came prepared; with my rain jacket and my hiking shoes.  It’s only about a half mile to my house, but much of the neighborhood I walk through is in a flood zone.  At times my whole foot was submerged in water!  My hiking shoes were not the ones I would wear on the trail.  They we meant for drier weather.  They are the Keen Marshall hiking shoe.  Great shoe for warmer weather, dry, hiking.  Very breathable with its mesh upper.  They do make a waterproof version (new version called the Saltzman WP) of the same shoe that I may take a look at in the future.

images-2

Keen Marshall

wsaltzman_wp_zinfandellavender_fog_3q

Keen Saltzman WP

I also got to see how my rain jacket would perform in more then just a drizzle !  I have a Patagonia Torrentshell and it did pretty well this morning.  It only takes me about 10-15 mins to walk home and I stayed mostly dry.  My hair was still dry and my torso was too.  My arms got a little “damp” but I think that was from holding them up to make sure my hood stayed down (since it was windy too).  If they had remained down by my side the whole time, I may have stayed a little drier.  But by no means was the top half of me soaked.  I don’t know how dry I would have stayed after an hour, but then I don’t know if there is a jacket out there that promises to keeps you 100% dry after hours on end.  If there is one that you know of, please leave me a link in the comments!

83807_SPYG.fpx

Patagonia Women’s Torrentshell Jacket

Walking out in the rain was invigorating! It made me feel happy in away. There were spots along the way home that I had no choice but to walk in ankle high water. I could hear thunder and see lightening too, but they were far enough apart that I could tell the source of the lightening was about 2 miles away.  I didn’t run, but I did hurry home and was even laughing at times.  There was nothing I could do to change the situation I was in, but I knew I just had to keep moving forward.

One hour, one on one work out @6am

Warm up 5k bike, 1000m row, 200m ski

First Set x4

  • Captains chair, leg raise (up and over) x20
  • Glute bridge with 65 lbs barbell x15

Second set x5

  • Dumbbell thrusters (bi) x4  (4 sets 20 lbs x8), (1 set 22 lbs x8)

Third set x4

  • Deadlift with 135 lbs barbell x5
  • Inverted row x10

Cool down .6 mile “trek” home

Standard

Leave a Reply

