Appalachian Trail, Blogging, Books, hiking, Vegan

Be anything….

I finished reading “The Art of Non-Conformity” by Chris Guillebeau last night.  I started reading it because I thought it would offer some insight as to how to break away from the “norms” that face us everyday.  While it did help me recognizes my fears, as I mentioned in an early blog, it was defiantly more focused on how to live your own life by more or less, running and owning your own business (or at least that is what I got from it over all).

There were a lot of ideas that I could stretch to apply to my own life and current goals.  One thing that came to me was maybe I could ask for support for my thru hike thought sponsorship from smaller gear and vegan food companies.  I mean it’s a long shot, but even if I could just get some free samples or possibly a pair of shoes, it would cut down on some of my costs.  My husband works for UPS, and he and I talked about finding a contact at UPS so that I could ask for their sponsorship.  That would be a huge help with the delivery costs of my refueling/supply drop boxes that I will need sent to me along the way.  I asked if anyone has successfully been sponsored or received free samples in one of the AT women’s groups I follow.  Some mentioned that it’s usually big name athletes (like Scott Jurek) that receive that sort of support.  Others mentioned that if I look for sponsorship from smaller companies I may have a chance.  At the end of the day, no matter what happens, the worst anyone can say to me is “no”.

I feel like I am in the infantile stages of my current goal.  I want to get my blog more established and to gain more followers and interest.  I don’t want to present myself as just another hiker/blogger.  It would be amazing if all this, the whole idea of the hike, the hike itself, and the aftermath could turn into something even bigger then I would have ever imagined.  Maybe an eBook about my journey?  The next Elizabeth Gilbert or Cheryl Staryed?  Maybe not.  Even though this hike is for me, I would love to be able to share my journey with other women and other hikers; possibly touch them the way other authors have touched and inspired me.

There was a quote at the end of Chris’s book that I really enjoyed.  Sir Cecil Beaton said:

“Be daring, be different, be impractical, be anything that will assert integrity of purpose and imaginative vision against the play-it-safers, the creatures of the commonplace, the slaves of the ordinary.”

I think I am that person, or at least I am discovering her inside me more and more.

 

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

