Fitness, Running, Vegan

Sunshine Run 5k and 10k

This past weekend was the Silicon Labs Sunshine 5k and 10k run in Austin, TX.  The Sunshine Run proceeds support low in come families with summer camp options for their children.  This is one of my coach’s favorite runs to participate in, and the second year Lifetime Run – North Austin has run in it.

I was originally signed up to do the 10k, but with my leg still injured, I opted to do the 5k.  I didn’t really want to run it at all because of my injury, but I couldn’t find anyone to take my bib; it was on Mother’s Day so a lot of the women in our group opted out of running on their “special” day.

IMG_1794

The weather was great and with only about 2000 entires, it was a good sized crowd but not crazy big either.  I actually had a pretty good pace for the first two miles, even with the couple walk breaks I took.  The last mile or so I did have to walk a little more then I would have liked, but I didn’t want to kill myself (any more then I already had).

Since my coach and I only did the 5k, we got done with plenty of time to watch everyone else come in!  That part was really fun and I got some great shots of our crew on my phone.  I had thought about bringing my DLSR camera if I hadn’t run and that would have been even more fun to take pictures with!

I placed 13th (out of 43) in my age group (35-39), which with being hurt, wasn’t to shabby.  My coach and one of the other ladies both placed 3rd in their age groups!  We didn’t stay around long enough for them to get there awards but we are looking into finding a way to pick them up.  Our group is still little when it comes to some of the events we attend, but we have a lot of fun together and support each other always!

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 8.16.30 PM

5k (3.1 miles) 68 degrees @ 7:30am

  • Overall time 30:15
  • Average pace 9:36
  • Splits 9:26, 9:26, 10:00, 1:20
  • Average cadence 176

 

Standard

One thought on “Sunshine Run 5k and 10k

Leave a Reply

