Fitness, Running, Vegan

Thursday morning burn

This morning was my one group work out for the week.  I did hit barbell class yesterday but these group classes are what I really enjoy.  Our trainer really pushes us to do things that we would never do on our own.  For starters, we did a 2000m row, which is the equivalent of the Olympic distance!  The records I found from past games showed this to be done between 5-6 mins!  It took me 10:20, but I’m not complaining, it was hard!  Our trainer would like to see us all under 10 mins in the future.  I guess it’s good to have goals!

I still have a bum leg.  After my run on Tuesday it started acting up again.  I am starting to get concerned because it has been a good 6 weeks since the initial time I hurt it.  It is really affecting my running.  I’m not going to be able to participate in a 10k that I signed up for on Sunday.  I could probably get through it, but I don’t think it would be the best idea.  I’m debating when I should go back to the chiropractor.  When she works on it, it helps, but I feel like just not running on it had been the biggest help.  This really sucks.  I’m really worried that my cardio will be affected big time by not running.  Guess I need to get into a spin class or out on my bike soon.  It was nice to have a break from running but I don’t want to be broken!

One hour group work out @ 6am

Warm up 300m row

2000m row

First set x3

  • Glute bridge on stability ball x20
  • Fire hydrant hip swings, 10 forward, 10 back, both sides

Second set

  • squats with 16kg kettle bell x20
  • squat holds for 10 seconds with 16kg kettle bell x5, two sets

Third set x4

  • Hungarian dead lifts with 85lbs barbell x8
  • inverted row (knees bent) x10

Forth set x4

  • single arm, kettle bell swings with 12kg kettle bell, both sides x10
  • front lung with single arm row with 10kg kettle bell, both sides x8

Cool down .6 mile walk home

Standard

Leave a Reply

