Books

What will it make you do?

So I first read the book Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert back in 2012.  That year I bought 3 more copies of it to give to my best girlfriends as Christmas gifts.  I even gave away my copy to my yoga teacher who had not read it yet!  I have since then replaced my copy and even loaned it out to another girl friend to read.

Elizabeth’s book was so amazing to me.  It literally changed something inside of me.  Funny, because the first time I picked it up in 2010, I couldn’t get through the “Pray” part and put it back on my bookshelf for two years before picking it up again.  It wasn’t the right time for me to read it yet.  I could totally relate to the “Eat” part at the time, but I was not ready for anything else.  Then in 2012 I reached a breaking point in my life.  I was in a relationship with a man that was mentally fighting his own demons.  It’s hard enough to be in any relationship but even harder when a mental illness is involved.  I think that was the reason I decided to pick up the book again a give it another go.  I was doing some praying of my own.  Praying that my partner and I figure out how to co-exist with the cards that had been handed to him and then by default, dealt to me too.  I started to go to yoga more.  I learned that yoga was my form of “religion”.  It helped me to feel stronger and to love myself, even when I didn’t feel loved by my partner.  It gave me peace during times of chaos.  Also, being previously divorced, reading it made me question whether or not I had lived through my long or short marriage yet.  Only time will tell.

Now in 2016, that book has always been in the back of my mind.  It lead me to read more books, by other great female writers like, Cheryl Strayed and Gretchen Rubin.  It reminds me that I am a strong woman that deserves love.  And apparently it carved the way for many other readers as well.  I have recently just finished reading Eat Pray Love Made Me Do It with introduction by Elizabeth Gilbert.  This book is a collection of short stories provided by readers of Eat Pray Love and how it shaped their lives as well.  There are a lot of people out there that felt lost, unloved and who where looking for a deeper meaning in life.  And everyone felt like Liz was talking to just us as they read about her journey.  They all had the same urge to “cross over” from their bathroom floors and into the arms of our own self love.

After finishing it today, I have the urge to read Eat Pray Love again.  To reconnect with what I had learned about myself that may have gotten a little lost over the past couple years.  I’m not really sure what Eat Pray Love Made Me Do……yet.  But I have a fiery burning inside to discover more and more about myself and to learn how to love myself more then I have in the past.  I highly recommend reading both these books along with Committed and Big Magic, also by Gilbert.

I will leave you with one of my favorite quotes from Eat Pray Love:

“To loose balance sometimes for love is part of living a balanced life.” -Ketut Liyer in Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

Standard

Leave a Reply

