Fitness, Vegan

Wednesday Weigh in #2

So I really didn’t know what to expect when I got on my scale this morning.  I did some pretty strenuous work outs last week and had a 10k run in there too.  I think part of me was hoping for some kind of dramatic change but the other part of me knew that wasn’t going to happen.  I was however, surprised to see that nothing really changed at all.  I mean my BMI went up .5% from last week, but everything else was the exact same.  I feel like I could have a good bowel movement and that the .5% would probably be literally flushed away!

Oh well.  It’s only been a week and my weight has been pretty stable for the last couple years aways!  I can tell that my legs, hips and butt feel stronger.  And all my clothes still fit and I feel good in them.  That is a true barometer for me.  There maybe a muscle/fat exchange going on that I will notice more later, but as long as I can still get into my current sizes in tops and pants, I’m happy.

On another note, I have started using a new protein powder that is very popular among the vegan population.  It is the Sunwarrior Classic Plus Raw Organic Protein Powder.  I do get enough protein from the foods I eat, IF I were sedentary.  But from what I have researched, I need more; especially right after a good workout, in order to rebuild and gain more muscle mass.  Most calculations I have read say I need anywhere from 80-120 grams of protein a day to build muscle.  I don’t think I’m there yet but that just seems like a crazy amount to me!  One thing to keep in mind, is that a lot of these calculations have been done with the idea that this protein would come from animal derived sources.  Animal protein and plant protein are very different and our bodies process them very differently too, but that is a whole other blog post altogether!  (Click here for a great article to read more about that!)

Second weigh in 4-13-16 @ 7:45am

  • 120.1 lbs @ 21.9% fat

Updated vegan protein recovery smoothie (35g of protein)

  • One scoop of Sunwarrior Classic Plus Organic Protein Powder
  • 1 cup organic soy milk (would recommend Westsoy or Trader Joe’s brands because they are the only two that have just water and Organic soy beans in them)
  • 1/2 cup frozen Black Cherries (I buy a bag of them at Costco)
  • 1/2 – 1 banana
  • 1 date
  • pinch of shredded coconut
  • 1/4 cup of almonds

Blend all together until smooth and enjoy!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Weigh in #2

  1. Pingback: Get up and get going and love kittens…. | Monkey Toes

  2. Pingback: Onto July! | Monkey Toes

Leave a Reply

