Fitness, Vegan

Wednesday Weigh in

So since I missed weighing myself yesterday, I thought I would do my weekly check in on Wednesdays.  I like to weigh myself first thing in the morning, before I have had even a single drop of water.  The scale I use is the Fitbit Aria.  This scale not only shows weight but also BMI (body mass index) and body fat percentage.  It works by sending a small electrical current through the body to gauge how much water is in the body.  It’s important to stand on it with bare feet and to be dry (so not right after a shower).  My gym has a supper fancy one of these scales, but this one I can use in the comfort of my own home and it syncs using Wifi to my Fitbit account, so I have a log of all my weigh ins.

I guess I should share my “numbers” to give people an idea of my body type.  I am a 36 year old female.  I stand 5’4″ and am considered to have a small frame.  A rough way to figure out your frame size is by measuring your wrist.


 “Women who are 5 feet 4 inches can determine their frame size by measuring their wrist circumference with a tape measure. If that number is less than 6 inches, the woman has a small frame. If her wrist size is 6 to 6.25 inches around, she has a medium frame, and if her wrist circumference is over 6.25 inches, she is classified as having large frame size, according to MedlinePlus.”


My weight has stayed between 115-120 pounds for the last 3 years.  And my BMI is usually between 18% and 20%.  Honestly according to everything I have researched I am at my idea weight and BMI currently.


“Using the Hamwi formula helps determine your desirable body weight, based on your frame size. According to California State University, the Hamwi formula for women is 100 pounds for the first 5 feet of height plus 5 pounds for each inch over 5 feet of height. Subtract 10 percent for a small-framed woman, and add 10 percent for women with large frames. Using this Hamwi formula, a 5-feet-4-inch woman has an ideal body weight of 108 pounds if she has a small frame, 120 pounds if she’s medium-framed and 132 pounds if she has a large frame.”

“Body mass index, or BMI, tables are also useful for determining acceptable body weights for women. A healthy BMI is considered to be between 18.5 and 24.9. Based on these BMI tables, the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute suggests that a healthy weight range for women who are 5 feet 4 inches tall is 110 to 140 pounds. Women who are this height and maintain body weights within this normal BMI range significantly reduce their risk for developing chronic diseases, such as heart disease and type-2 diabetes.”

“Although having a high body fat percentage increases a woman’s risk for developing chronic diseases, her body does require a minimum amount of body fat to function properly. According to the American Council on Exercise, women – regardless of their height – should maintain at least 10 percent, but no more than 31 percent, body fat. ACE also reports that women who exercise regularly should aim for 21 percent to 24 percent body fat, and female athletes should maintain body fat percentages of 14 to 20.”

The Ideal Weight and Body Fat Percentage for a 5′ 4″ Female by Erin Coleman, R.D., L.D., Demand Media


So I am not really looking to change that a whole lot.  I’m not looking to be the next Mrs. Vegan Bodybuilder 2016!  Ha!  Just more so curious  to see how those numbers may or may not change over the next month.  And I am fairly toned but that is where I want to push it a little.  Like I mentioned before, I would really like to have more defined abs.  I would also like my butt to be a little firmer!  I’m pretty happy with my arms and shoulders already, but a little tweaking never hurt!  And I have pretty strong runner’s legs too.

Now I’m off to barbell class!

First weigh in on 4-6-16 @ 7am

  • 120.1 lbs @ 21.4% fat
Standard

4 thoughts on “Wednesday Weigh in

  1. Christine's Fat 2 Fit Journey! says:

    that is awesome. I wanted to get Fitbit Aria but I live down stairs (basement sweet) and the wifi is up were my land lord lives. For my understanding need to be hocked up to wifi or something like that. Is that true?

    Like

Leave a Reply

