No Spend Challenge

Looking back on the month: Day 28

Here we are, day twenty-eight; the end of the month and finish The No Spend Challenge.  The next few days cover reflecting over what we have learned as well as providing feed back for new comers.  I’ve learned a lot about myself and I am proud of myself for what I have accomplished.

I think the biggest thing that I have learned is that I don’t need things to fill my life with happiness.  I have learned to be happy with what I already have and to give away and de-clutter my life from things that don’t.  Over this passed month I have gone through things in my house that I have held onto for over ten years.  Some things I kept but most I donated, recycled or threw away.  And doing so was like a breath of fresh air.  I have more space in my closets and garage.  And I have less things that I have to keep track of and give my energy to.

I have also learned more and more, to not associate deep feelings with things.  Just because I give something away, that someone I love gave to me, doesn’t mean I no longer love or cherish them as a person.  I’m sure whatever it was served its prepose at the time (or maybe it never did) but over the years things change, feelings change, and it can become time to let go.  Maybe only hold onto a couple select items but it’s important to move on from the ones that are just taking up space.  It is a learning process and I did have some bumps along the way too.  There are probably some items in the back of my closet still hiding in order to avoid their demise.  Some clothes that are hoping to become an outfit just one more time.  But that’s ok because it’s not about being perfect; it’s about doing the best you can.

My family (which is just my husband and I) started this year off on a single income.  This was new for us.  Up until a month ago, we had two incomes and never really worried too much about basically doing whatever we wanted, whenever we wanted. But life happens and has a way of changing things.  At first I was a little worried.  But as the month progressed, and I followed this challenge, and wrote about our daily accomplishments, it became less scary.  I actually didn’t have to touch our savings at all and even managed to still save a little.  Now at the end of the month, I can see that we are going to be just fine and I feel happier too!

I’m really glad I participated this month.  It was a very positive way to start off the year.  With anything that you do in life, you have to create a solid foundation.  This challenge was just that.  I don’t know if I will follow it as closely each month but what I have learned will stay with me going forward.  It’s like an important volume in the instruction manual of life.

Standard

Leave a Reply

