No Spend Challenge

Say Cheese: Day 26

Yesterday went pretty well.  Just had to do the weekly grocery shopping.  Spent about the same as I always do.  I have a couple new recipes I want to try this week and one required some ingredients that I didn’t have.  I like to try new things; especially out of my vegan cookbooks.  I actually got a new one the other day call Vegan Under Pressure by Jill Nussinow.  It’s a cookbook for vegan meals that you can make in your Instant Pot.  But I must confess that I am a little leery when it comes to having to buy new ingredients.  I just worry, that if I don’t like them after I try them, that then I will have spent money on something I may never use again if it’s gross. So we shall see….

Day twenty-six of The No Spend Challenge is about getting crafty!  I’ve always been a very crafty person for as long as I can remember.  For awhile now, I was missing having a creative outlet.  With working and just dealing with everyday life, I could never find time to start a project.  But I started to put the wheels in motion at the end of last year.  I bought myself a Christmas gift of a new Nikon D5500 DSLR camera.  This was my first “big girl” camera.

When I was younger I enjoyed drawing, coloring, making things with clay, writing, and all sorts of other crafts.  I was always in my room creating something.  I would make all of my parent’s birthday and holiday cards.  And from 1st grade all the way through college, I was always in an art class.  I think I got my creativity from my dad.  He would help me with arts fair projects, take me to the art museum as well as take me shopping at art and craft stores for various supplies.

My father was a photographer on the side when I was growing up but I never really took a whole lot of interest in photography then.  He did help me with an entry into an Arts Fair by showing me how to use his camera to take a picture of a rose ( I was 10 years old and I believe I may have won honorable mention for my entry).  Now as an adult I have always found myself taking a ton of pictures with my cell phone.  When ever we go somewhere, especially in nature, I just want to take pictures of everything!  So now (with my newly found time off) was the perfect time to learn how to take really great pictures!  So I signed up for a photography class (not free but well worth it) and I am on week 4 of a 6 week class.  I have learned a lot and, as I have mentioned before, I love to go around town and just spend time walking around looking for great shots.  That part of the hobby/craft is free.  It provides a great means for a free activity as well as a creative outlet.  So far I love it and can’t wait to learn more.  I really can’t wait until I can take a couple trips out of state and to be able to take great pictures of my memories!

If you have a moment, feel free to check out some of my photographs that are mixed into my blog.  They are all under the category of Photography or you can follow me on Instagram @monkeytoesaustin.  Would love any kind of feed back!  And I can’t wait to hear about everyone else’s crafty endeavors!

Standard

Leave a Reply

