Blogging, No Spend Challenge

Blogging 101: Day 9

You’re never to old to learn something new and in this day and age we all have an endless amount of information at our fingertips.  “Google it”, has become a household phrase and you can watch a YouTube video on just about anything…..no not just about, literally ANYTHING.  So this brings us to the weekend and two days of learning new things for free!

Day nine of The No Spend Challenge is about learning a new, enjoyable skill.  Whether it be how to play a game or getting started with a new hobby.  With the internet readily available 24/7, anything is possible. I’m sure there is at least one thing on the day 9 list that you want to learn.  Or there maybe something on your own bucket list?  It’s the beginning of a new year, new challenge and ultimately a new you.

I’ve always been creative and one of my outlets has been writing.  In school I would rather have had an essay question on a test then a multiple choice any day.  It was so much easier for me to express what I had learned in my own words then it was to try to memorize a bunch of random facts.  And ever since my dad gave me an old day planner, back when I was in middle school, I have kept a journal of some shape or form.

My newest (and recently revived) hobby has been blogging.  It takes everything I love about writing and puts it all into one.  I get to express my thoughts about different topics as well as share a little bit about my personal life and ideas.  When I first started blogging I was using a different format and it wasn’t as user friendly as the one I am currently on.  Plus there was a lot that had changed since I started my last blog.  Now there were categories and tags and links and all sorts of ways to get your words out into the world.  But I had no idea how to streamline them (and I am actually still learning).  I’m constantly googling everything.  From what is the difference between a category and a tag?  To when to use a semicolon?  Many times when I am writing, I have my blog tab open along with 3 to 4 other tabs containing various information.  And the best part is that I can do research right in the comfort of my own home.

I am learning something new everyday and it doesn’t cost me anything but my time.  It is time well spent because I am doing something that I love on a platform that I can share with others for free.  (Well soon I do want to purchase my domain and hire a host site, but that’s a whole other entry for an entirely different day.)  The No Spend Challenge itself, has given me something to write about everyday and keeps me motivated.  Somedays I feel more inspired then others, but I still put my best foot forward and stick with it because writing is something I enjoy.  It’s even helped shed some light on possible new career options when I was grieving the end of a different one.

So get out there and get started.  I can’t wait to read about what new things you have learned.  And about what brings a new light into your life!

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

